James Kennerley

conductor, keyboardist, composer, tenor

Welcome to the website of James Kennerley, the NYC-based English conductor, keyboardist, tenor, and composer. Please enjoy the content, and don't hesitate to get in touch with any questions or booking inquiries.

Hear and see James play the mighty Casavant organ and direct the professional mixed voice choir of the Church of Saint Ignatius of Antioch every Sunday at 11 AM. The church is renowned throughout the US for its spectacular music program, presenting choral works from the thirteenth to the twenty-first centuries in an unparalleled liturgical and acoustic setting. Click here for complete information on the choral music and on service times. James is also a frequent guest organist and conductor at Saint Thomas Church, Fifth Avenue, and Trinity Church, Wall Street. As Municipal Organist in Portland, Maine, James performs throughout each season on the Kotzschmar Organ at Merrill Auditorium, please click here for the current schedule. 


Service for the Feast of Corpus Christi
The Choir of Saint Ignatius of Antioch
Thursday, May 31, 2018, 7:00 PM
The Church of Saint Ignatius of Antioch, NYC
Click here for more information.


Spring Concert
Artistic Director, New Jersey State Children’s Chorus
Sunday, June 3, 2018, 4:00 PM
United Methodist Church, Ridgewood, NJ
Click here for more information.


Sonnambula
Association of Anglican Musicians Conference
Sunday, June 10 & Monday, June 11, 2018
St. David's Episcopal Church, San Antonio, TX
Click here for more information.


A Journey through Baroque Europe
Portland Bach Festival
The Episcopal Church of St. Mary, Portland, Maine
Friday, June 15, 2018, 7 PM
Click here for more information. 


Organ Recital
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Atlanta, GA
More details will be available soon.


Organ Recital
Friday, June 29, 2018
Maine
More details will be available soon.


Organ Works of Buxtehude and his Contemporaries
Featured lecturer & performer
Madison Early Music Festival
Saturday, July 7-Saturday, July 14, 2018
The University of Wisconsin-Madison
Click here for more information.


TENET at Caramoor
Sunday, July 22, 2018, 4 PM
Click here for more information.


Municipal Organist of the City of Portland, Maine
Summer Concert with Kotzschmar Festival Brass
Kotzschmar Memorial Organ, Merrill Auditorium
Tuesday, August 28, 2018, 7:30 PM

Halloween Silent Film: Nosferatu
Kotzschmar Memorial Organ, Merrill Auditorium
Tuesday, October 30, 2018, 7:30 PM

Christmas in Portland
Kotzschmar Memorial Organ, Merrill Auditorium
Tuesday, December 18, 2018, 7:30 PM


Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Cloisters
2018
Sound and the City: Street Cries from Renaissance London
Saturday, November 17, 3 pm

Spanish Christmas at The Met Cloisters
Sunday, December 23, 1 pm 
Sunday, December 23, 3 pm

2019
Leonora Duarte: Converso in Antwerp
Saturday, February 2, 7 pm

Michael Praetorius: Dances from Terpsichore (1612) 
Saturday, June 1, 3 pm


Last updated May 2018.