James Kennerley

conductor, keyboardist, composer, tenor

Welcome to the website of James Kennerley, the NYC-based English conductor, keyboardist, tenor, and composer. Please enjoy the content, and don't hesitate to get in touch with any questions or booking inquiries.

Hear and see James play the mighty Casavant organ and direct the professional mixed voice choir of the Church of Saint Ignatius of Antioch every Sunday at 11AM (summertime services start at 10AM). The church is renowned throughout the US for its spectacular music program, presenting choral works from the thirteenth to the twenty-first centuries in an unparalleled liturgical and acoustic setting. Click here for complete information on the choral music and on service times. James is also a frequent guest organist and conductor at Saint Thomas Church, Fifth Avenue, and Trinity Church, Wall Street. As Municipal Organist in Portland, Maine, James performs throughout each season on the Kotzschmar Organ at Merrill Auditorium, please click here for the current schedule. 


Organ Recital
St. Thomas Church, Fifth Avenue, New York City
Sunday, January 27, 2019, 5:15 PM
Click here for more information.


Sonnambula, continuo
Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Cloisters
Leonora Duarte: Converso in Antwerp
Saturday, February 2, 2019, 7 PM
Click here for more information.


Bach Vespers at Holy Trinity
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, NYC
Sunday, February 24, 2019, 5PM
Click here for more information.


Organ Recital
Bower Chapel, Naples, FL
Thursday, February 28, 2019, 7:30 PM
More information will be available soon.


Time’s Arrow
Trinity Baroque Orchestra, continuo
St. Paul’s Chapel, NYC
Tuesday - Saturday, March 5-9, 2019, 1 PM
Click here for more information.


Ars Musica: The Magic of Opera, conductor
Featuring the Encore Young Artists
West Side Presbyterian Church, Ridgewood, NJ
Saturday, March 10, 2019, 4 PM
Click here for more information.

Dancers’ Delight: Michael Praetorius’ Terpsichore
Sonnambula and Piffaro: The Renaissance Band
Philadelphia Episcopal Cathedral, PA
Friday, March 15, 2019, 7:30 PM
Presbyterian Church of Chestnut Hill, PA
Saturday, March 16, 2019, 7:30 PM
Christ Church Christiana Hundred, Wilmington, DE
Sunday, March 17, 2019, 3 PM
Click here for more information.


Municipal Organist of the City of Portland, Maine
Bach Birthday Celebration
Kotzschmar Memorial Organ
Merrill Auditorium, Portland, ME
Wednesday, March 20, 2019, 7:30 PM
Click here for more information.

New Jersey State Children’s Chorus, artistic director
Sunday, March 24, 2019, 4 PM
Ridgewood United Methodist Church, Ridgewood, NJ
More information will be available soon.


Bach Vespers at Holy Trinity
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, NYC
Sunday, March 31, 2019, 5 PM
Click here for more information.

Bach Vespers at Holy Trinity
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, NYC
Sunday, April 7, 14 & 21, 2019, 5 PM
Click here for more information.

Holy Week
St. Ignatius of Antioch Episcopal Church, NYC
Sunday, April 14 through Sunday, April 21, 2019
Click here for more information.


Ars Musica: Bernstein Centennial, conductor
West Side Presbyterian Church, Ridgewood, NJ
Saturday, May 18, 2019, 7 PM
Click here for more information.

Sonnambula, continuo
Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Cloisters
Michael Praetorius: Dances from Terpsichore (1612) 
Saturday, June 1, 3 PM
Click here for more information.

New Jersey State Children’s Chorus, artistic director
Sunday, June 9, 2019, 4 PM
Bethlehem Lutheran Church, Ridgewood, NJ
More information will be available soon.


Last updated January 2019.