James Kennerley

conductor, keyboardist, composer, tenor

Welcome to the website of James Kennerley, the NYC-based English conductor, keyboardist, tenor, and composer. Please enjoy the content, and don't hesitate to get in touch with any questions or booking inquiries.

Read more about James' performances over the past year below.

James conducting the Ars Musica Chorale in May 2018. (photo by Tatiana Daubek)

An Ars Musica Holiday, conductor
Featuring the NJ State Children's Chorus
Bethlehem Lutheran Church, Ridgewood, NJ
Saturday, December 8, 2018, 7 PM

Lessons and Carols, conductor
St. Ignatius of Antioch Episcopal Church, NYC
Sunday, December 9, 2018, 5 PM

Sonnambula, continuo
Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Cloisters
Sound and the City: Street Cries from Renaissance London
Saturday, November 17, 2018, 3 PM

Ars Musica: Classical Splendor, conductor
Mozart and Schubert with the Adelphi Orchestra
West Side Presbyterian Church, Ridgewood, NJ
Saturday, November 10, 2018, 7 PM

Municipal Organist of the City of Portland, Maine
Halloween Silent Film: Nosferatu
Kotzschmar Memorial Organ
Merrill Auditorium, Portland, ME
Tuesday, October 30, 2018, 7:30 PM
Click here to read the review from Portland’s Press Herald!

Soloist, Bach Vespers
The Bach Choir, Donald Meineke, Cantor
Sunday, October 21, 2018, 5:00 PM
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, New York City

Vivaldi's Four Seasons and Marais' Alcyone Suites, continuo
Long Beach Beverly O’Neill Theater
Saturday, September 22, 2018, 7 PM
Zipper Hall at the Colburn School, Los Angeles, CA
Sunday, September 23, 2018, 3 PM

Organist for High Holidays
September 2018
Park Avenue Synagogue, New York (Church of the Heavenly Rest)

Summer Concert with Kotzschmar Festival Brass: An American in Paris
Kotzschmar Memorial Organ
Merrill Auditorium, Portland, ME
Tuesday, August 28, 2018, 7:30 PM

Mark Morris Dance Group, tenor
Mostly Mozart Festival, Lincoln Center, NYC
August 2018

TENET Vocal Artists, tenor
Handel's Atalanta with Philharmonia Baroque
Nicholas McGegan, conductor
Caramoor, Katonah, NY
Sunday, July 22, 2018, 4 PM

Organ Works of Buxtehude and his Contemporaries
Madison Early Music Festival: Featured Lecturer & Performer
Saturday, July 7-Saturday, July 14, 2018
The University of Wisconsin-Madison

Organ Recital, Church on the Cape
Cape Porpoise, Maine
Friday, June 29, 2018, 7 PM

Organ Recital, Atlanta Summer Organ Festival
Wednesday, June 20, 2018, 7:30PM
The Cathedral of Christ the King, Atlanta, GA

Sonnambula, Association of Anglican Musicians Conference
Sunday, June 10 & Monday, June 11, 2018
St. David's Episcopal Church, San Antonio, TX

Portland Bach Experience
Friday, June 15, 2018, 7 PM
Saturday, June 16, 2018, 7 PM
Sunday, June 17, 2018, 3 PM
The Episcopal Church of St. Mary, Falmouth, Maine

Spring Concert
Artistic Director, New Jersey State Children’s Chorus
Sunday, June 3, 2018, 4:00 PM
United Methodist Church, Ridgewood, NJ

Service for the Feast of Corpus Christi
(Featuring James Kennerley's Mass for Double Choir)
The Choir of Saint Ignatius of Antioch
Thursday, May 31, 2018, 7:00 PM
The Church of Saint Ignatius of Antioch, NYC

J.S. Bach's Mass in B minor
Conductor, Ars Musica Chorale with the Adelphi Orchestra
Saturday, May 19, 2018, 7:00 PM
West Side Presbyterian Church, Ridgewood, NJ

Service for the Feast of the Ascension
The Choir of Saint Ignatius of Antioch
Thursday, May 10, 2018, 7:00 PM
The Church of Saint Ignatius of Antioch, NYC

New York Landmarks Conservancy: Sacred Sites Open House
Saturday, May 5, 2018, 2:00-4:00 PM
Open Choral Rehearsal
Sunday, May 6, 2018, 2:00 PM
Organ Recital featuring Bach, Handel, and improvisation on Easter themes
St. Ignatius of Antioch, NYC

Organ Recital, Pipes at One
Friday, May 4, 2018, 1:00 PM
St. Paul's Chapel, NYC

Organ Recital
Friday, May 4, 2018, 6:30 PM (Rescheduled from April 6)
St. Malachy's Church, NYC

Tenor, Choir of Trinity Wall Street
Total Embrace: Leonard Bernstein at 100
Thursday, May 3, 2018, 1:00 PM
St. Paul's Chapel, NYC

Organist, Bernstein, Chichester Psalms
The Taft School Choir, Bruce Fifer, conductor
Sunday, April 22, 2018, 3:00 PM
race Episcopal Church, NYC
Friday, April 20, 2018, 7:30 PM
Watertown, CT

Début Concert, Municipal Organist of the City of Portland, ME
Kotzschmar Memorial Organ, Merrill Auditorium
Wednesday, April 18, 2018, 7:30 PM
(Pre-concert talk at 6:30 PM with John Bishop)
Click here to read Allan Kozinn's review.

Organ, Bach at One
Trinity Baroque Orchestra with the Choir of Trinity Wall Street
Monday, April 9, 2018, 1:00 PM
St. Paul's Chapel, NYC

Soloist, Bach Vespers
The Bach Choir, Donald Meineke, Cantor
Sunday, April 1 & 8, 2018, 5:00 PM
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, New York City

Holy Week and Easter Services
The Choir of Saint Ignatius of Antioch
Thursday, March 29 through Sunday, April 1, 2018
The Church of Saint Ignatius of Antioch, NYC

Couperin, Leçons de Tenèbres
Soloists and Choir of Saint Ignatius of Antioch
Wednesday, March 28, 2018, 7:00 PM
Saint Ignatius of Antioch, NYC

Guest Organist for Neighborhood Movie Night
Walt Disney's When the Cat's Away with Mickey Mouse
A Prelude to Remember the Titans  
Friday, March 23, 2018, 7:00 PM (doors open at 6:30 PM)
St. Paul's Chapel, New York City
Click here to view a short clip!

Soloist, Bach Vespers
The Bach Choir, Donald Meineke, Cantor
Sunday, March 18, 2018, 5:00 PM
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, New York City

Continuo, Bach at One
The Choir of Trinity Wall Street & Trinity Baroque Orchestra
Monday, March 12, 2018, 1pm
St. Paul's Chapel, New York City

Harpsichord & Conductor, Sonnambula
Presented by the Hispanic Society Museum and Library
Thursday, March 8, 2018, 6:30 PM Lecture, 7:00 PM Concert

Winter Concert: I Bought me a Cat, Folk Songs!
Artistic Director, New Jersey State Children’s Chorus
Sunday, March 4, 2018, 4:00 PM
United Methodist Church, Ridgewood, NJ

Porgy in Paris: music of Poulenc and Gershwin
Conductor, Ars Musica Chorale
Saturday, March 3, 2018, 7:30 PM
Bethlehem Lutheran Church, Ridgewood, NJ

Soloist, Bach Vespers
The Bach Choir, Donald Meineke, Cantor
Sunday, February 11, 2018, 5:00 PM
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, New York City

Organist, Duruflé's Requiem
Friday, January 12, 2018, 7:00 PM
Cathedral of St. Luke, Portland, ME
Saturday, January 13, 2018, 3:00 PM
Bowdoin Chapel, Brunswick, ME

The Salon of Leonora Duarte
Sonnambula @ The Hispanic Society
Thursday, December 21, 2017, time TBA
The Academy of Arts and Letters, NYC

Holiday Concert
Vox Vocal Ensemble, George Steele, director
Monday, December 18, 2017, 7:00 PM
Guggenheim Museum, NYC

Holiday Concert
Vox Vocal Ensemble, George Steele, director
Sunday, December 17, 2017, 7:00 PM
Guggenheim Museum, NYC

Handel’s Messiah (continuo)
The Choir and Baroque Orchestra of Trinity Church, Wall Street
Julian Wachner, director
Sunday, December 17, 2017, 3:00 PM
Trinity Church, Wall Street, NYC

Handel’s Messiah (continuo)
The Choir and Baroque Orchestra of Trinity Church, Wall Street
Julian Wachner, director
Saturday, December 16, 2017, 7:30 PM
Trinity Church, Wall Street, NYC

Vox Vocal Ensemble: An Eton Choirbook Christmas
George Steel, conductor
Saturday, December 16, 2017, 1:00 PM & 3:00 PM
The Metropolitan Museum at the Cloisters, NYC

Handel’s Messiah (continuo)
The Choir and Baroque Orchestra of Trinity Church, Wall Street
Julian Wachner, director
Friday, December 15, 2017, 7:30 PM
Trinity Church, Wall Street, NYC

Advent Lessons & Carols
The Choir of Saint Ignatius of Antioch, NYC
Sunday, December 10, 2017, 5:00 PM
The Church of Saint Ignatius of Antioch, NYCGuggenheim Museum, NYC

Holiday Celebration
Ars Musica Chorale
Saturday, December 9, 2017, 7:00 PM
Bethlehem Lutheran Church, Ridgewood, NJ

Soloist, Bach Vespers
The Bach Choir, Donald Meineke, Cantor
Sunday, December 3, 2017, 5:00 PM
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, New York City

Organ soloist, “Grant us Peace” Christmas concert
New York City Master Chorale, Thea Kano, director
Saturday, December 2, 2017, 8:00 PM

Sonnambula: The Salon of Leonora Duarte
Thursday, November 16, 2017, 7:30PM
Strathmore Mansion, MD

Organ soloist, Lincoln Center's White Light Festival
In collaboration with The Tallis Scholars,
Netherlands Chamber Choir,& Norwegian Soloists Choir
November 9-11, 2017

Celestial Harmonies:
Rachmaninoff's All-Night Vigil and Barber's Adagio (Agnus Dei)
Ars Musica Chorale
Saturday, November 11, 2017, 7:30 PM
Bethlehem Lutheran Church, Ridgewood, NJ

Organist, Duruflé Requiem
The Taft School Choir, Bruce Fifer, conductor
Saturday, November 5, 2017, 5:00 PM
Watertown, CT

Soloist, Bach Vespers
The Bach Choir, Donald Meineke, Cantor
Sunday, October 29, 2017, 5:00 PM
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, New York City

Conductor, Service for the 500th Anniversary of the Reformation
Ars Musica Chorale
Sunday, October 29, 2017, 1:30 PM
Bethlehem Lutheran Church, Ridgewood, NJ

Soloist, Bach Vespers
The Bach Choir, Donald Meineke, Cantor
Sunday, October 22, 2017, 5:00 PM
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, New York City

Organist, Saint Thomas Church choir tour
October 11-13, 2017

Soloist, Bach Vespers
The Bach Choir, Donald Meineke, Cantor
Sunday, October 8, 2017, 5:00 PM
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, New York City

Organist and conductor, High Holy Day Services
September-October, 2017
Park Avenue Synagogue, NYC

Élisabeth Jacquet de La Guerre: Musician in Paris
Sonnambula
Thursday, September 14, 2017, 7:30 PM
Baruch College, NYC

Sonnambula residency, Madison Early Music Festival
July 8-15 2017

Harpsichord-violin duo concert with Noémy Gagnon-Lafrenais
Saturday May 27 2017, 5 PM
Norfolk Library, Norfolk, CT

Organ soloist, music & motets by J. S. Bach
Sunday May 21 2017, 3 PM
Canticum Novum; Harold Rosenbaum, director
The Church of Saint Ignatius of Antioch, NYC

Organ soloist, music & motets by J. S. Bach
Saturday May 13 2017, 8 PM
Canticum Novum; Harold Rosenbaum, director
The Church of Saint Ignatius of Antioch, NYC

Music of Bach and Handel
Thursday May 11 2017, 7:30 PM
The Choir and Orchestra of Saint Thomas Church; Daniel Hyde, director
Saint Thomas Church, Fifth Avenue, NYC

Organ soloist, Baroque masterworks
Taghkanic Chorale; Steven Fox, director
Sunday April 30 2017, 4 PM

Organ soloist, Baroque masterworks
Taghkanic Chorale; Steven Fox, director
Saturday April 29 2017, 8 PM

Sonnambula residency at Princeton University
Tuesday April 25 2017, 8 PM
Taplin Auditorium, Princeton University

The Handel Project - Solomon, HWV 67 (Act 3) - livestream & archived video available
The Choir & Baroque Orchestra of Trinity, Wall Street, Julian Wachner, director
Wednesday, April 19, 1 PM
Saint Paul's Chapel, New York City

Soloist, Bach Vespers
The Bach Choir, Donald Meineke, Cantor
Sunday, April 16, 2017, 5 PM
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, New York City

François Couperin: Leçons de ténèbres pour le mercredi saint
Jolle Greenleaf & Sherezade Panthaki, sopranos; Arnie Tanimoto, viola da gamba; James Kennerley, director and organ.
Wednesday, April 12, 2017, 7 PM
Saint Ignatius of Antioch Episcopal Church, New York City

Soloist, Bach Vespers
The Bach Choir, Donald Meineke, Cantor
Sunday, April 9, 2017, 5 PM
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, New York City

The Handel Project - Israel in Egypt - livestream & archived video available
The Choir & Baroque Orchestra of Trinity Church, Wall Street
Saturday, April 8, 7:30 PM
Trinity Church, Wall Street, NYC

The Handel Project - Solomon, HWV 67 (Act 2) - livestream & archived video available
The Choir & Baroque Orchestra of Trinity, Wall Street, Julian Wachner, director
Wednesday, April 5, 1 PM
Saint Paul's Chapel, New York City

The Handel Project - Solomon, HWV 67 (Act 1) - livestream & archived video available
The Choir & Baroque Orchestra of Trinity, Wall Street, Julian Wachner, director
Wednesday, March 29, 1 PM
Saint Paul's Chapel, New York City

Solo organ concert, NEPA Bach Festival
Saturday, March 25 2017, 4 PM
Elm Park United Methodist Church, Scranton, PA

Organ soloist, BAC Salon: The Originals: Biber + Nancarrow
With Mark Fewer, violin; Charles Weaver & Daniel Swenberg, theorbo; Robert Willey, synthesizer.
Wednesday March 22 and Thursday March 23, 2017, 7:30 PM
Baryshnikov Arts Center, New York City

The Handel Project - Jephtha, HWV 70 (Act 3)
The Choir & Baroque Orchestra of Trinity, Wall Street, Julian Wachner, director
Wednesday, March 22, 1 PM
Saint Paul's Chapel, New York City

The Handel Project - Jephtha, HWV 70 (Act 2)
The Choir & Baroque Orchestra of Trinity, Wall Street, Julian Wachner, director
Wednesday, March 15, 1 PM
Saint Paul's Chapel, New York City

Mozart's Magic Flute (Die Zauberflöte) - Erster Geharnischter Mann (First Armoured Man)
Clarion Opera, Alain Gauthier, director; Steven Fox, conductor
Saturday, March 11 & Monday, March 13, 2017, 7:30 PM
The Theater of the Museo del Barrio, New York City

The Handel Project - Jephtha, HWV 70 (Act 1)
The Choir & Baroque Orchestra of Trinity, Wall Street, Julian Wachner, director
Wednesday, March 8, 2017, 1 PM
Saint Paul's Chapel, New York City

Organ soloist, French Masterworks
Amor Artis, Ryan Brandau, director
Saturday, March 4, 3 PM
Holy Trinity Roman Catholic Church, New York City

Soloist, Bach Vespers
The Bach Choir, Donald Meineke, Cantor
Sunday, February 26, 2017, 5 PM
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, New York City

Soloist, Bach Vespers
The Bach Choir, Donald Meineke, Cantor
Sunday, February 19, 2017, 5 PM
Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, New York City

Harpsichordist, commercial recording of Handel's Messiah
The Choir and Baroque Orchestra of Trinity Church, Wall Street, Julian Wachner, director
Friday, February 10-Sunday, February 12, 2017
The Concert Hall, Drew University

Tenor soloist, Rameau's Les Indes galantes
The American Classical Orchestra, Thomas Crawford, director
Thursday, February 9, 2017, 8 PM
The Church of Saint Ignatius of Antioch, New York City

Organ soloist, with the Choir of Saint Thomas Church, Fifth Avenue
Friday, February 3, 2017, 7 PM
Greenville, SC

Carmel Bach Festival
Music Director, VBA Program and keyboardist, Festival Orchestra
July 16-30, 2016
Carmel, CA

Organ soloist, C4 Collective
Organic: New works for voices and organ
Thursday 9th and Saturday 11th June 2016
The Church of Saint Ignatius of Antioch, 552 West End Avenue, New York NY

Vocal soloist, Sonnambula consort
Friday 3rd June 2016, 6 PM
The Frick Collection, 1 East 70th Street New York, NY
More information: www.sonnambula.org

Corpus Christi Solemn Mass, including world première composition
Thursday 26th May 2016, 7 PM
The Church of Saint Ignatius of Antioch, 552 West End Avenue, New York NY
More information: www.saintignatiusnyc.org

Sonnambula residency, Princeton University
6th-7th May 2016
More information: www.sonnambula.org

Organ soloist, NYC Master Chorale, Thea Kano, Music Director
Saturday 30th April 2016, 8 PM
Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln Center
More information: www.nycmasterchorale.org/current-season/

J.S. Bach’s ‘Goldberg’ variations
Wednesday 27th April 2016, 12 PM
St. Johns Episcopal Church, 4200 S. Atlanta Pl. Tulsa, OK

Organ soloist, Bach cantata Canadian tour
Trinity Baroque Orchestra and The Choir of Trinity Wall Street, Julian Wachner, director
23rd-25th April 2016

Organ soloist, Bach at One
Trinity Baroque Orchestra and The Choir of Trinity Wall Street, Juilian Wachner, director
Wednesday 20th April 2016, 1 PM
St. Paul’s Chapel, 209 Broadway, New York, NY
Watch again: www.trinitywallstreet.org/music-arts/season/bach-at-one

Organ soloist, Maurice Duruflé, Requiem
Amor Artis, Ryan Brandau, Music Director
Saturday 16th April 2016, 8 PM
More information: www.amorartis.org

Michael Haydn’s Requiem
American Classical Orchestra, Thomas Crawford, Music Director
Tuesday 5th April 2016, 8 PM
More information: www.americanclassicalorchestra.org

Soloist, Heinrich Schütz - Sie Sieben Worte Jesu am Kreuz SWV 478
Bach Vespers, Holy Trinity Lutheran Church, 3 W 65th St, New York, NY
Sunday 20th March 2016, 5 PM
More information: www.bachvespersnyc.org

Conductor, Sonnambula consort and soloists
Music from the Cathedrals of 18th-century Cuba (11 US premières)
Friday 18th March 2016, 6 PM
Hispanic Society of America, 613 W 155th St, New York, NY
More information: www.hispanicsociety.org

James MacMillan’s The Seven Last Words of Christ
With the choir of Saint Thomas Church, Fifth Avenue, New York
Thursday 17th March 2016, 7:30 PM
More information: www.saintthomaschurch.org/music/concerts

Tenor soloist, Bach at One
Trinity Baroque Orchestra and The Choir of Trinity Wall Street
Wednesday 9th March 2016, 1 PM
St. Paul’s Chapel, 209 Broadway, New York, NY
Watch again: https://www.trinitywallstreet.org/video/bach-one-51

Organ soloist, The Cecilia Chorus of New York Mark Shapiro, director
Sunday 6th March 2016, 3 PM
Church of the Holy Trinity, 316 East 88th Street, New York, NY
More information: www.ceciliachorusny.org


Concerts archived to March 2016.